Reviews about Mumbai

Your rating
Asif Uzzaman 9 months ago
Make sure to visit Mumbai while you are still young! Else you won't be able to have the kind of fun which the city in general & Essel World Amusement park in particular deserves. It was the best part of my visit. Also, do visit the Gateway of India and you can take a boat from there to Elephanta caves. And yes, good luck bargaining with boat-men!??
Surbhi Parashar 11 months ago
'The City that Never Sleeps', 'The City of Dreams' and 'The City of Seven Islands' are just a few of the epithets used to describe the wonderful city of Mumbai or Bombay, as it was known before. Located along the Konkan coast and home to India's film industry, the capital of Maharashtra and the financial capital of India is multi-faceted and provides a lot of exciting experiences. And it demands to be experienced! The most striking feature about Mumbai is its rich diversity. The rich and the poor, movie stars and daily wage labourers, dazzlingly tall skyscrapers and large slum areas, grand cosmopolitan malls and local street bazaars all exist side-by-side in this city. The city of Mumbai offers everything to the bustling crowds that make up its heartbeat - beautiful lakes, beaches, parks and both impressive modern and historically significant architecture. The old city or the south of Mumbai has sprawling areas which are great for heritage walks. Marine Drive, popularly known as the "Queen's Necklace" is like a jewel adorning the city sea face. The Sanjay Gandhi National Park is popular for its lush greenery and serenity. Mumbai is often referred to as India's New York for its impressive skyline.  There are also many famous religious sites in Mumbai, which stand testimony to the city's historical roots in Hinduism, Christianity as well as Islam. These include the likes of the Siddhi Vinayak Mandir, Mount Mary Church and the Haji Ali Dargah.
Neha Agrawal 11 months ago
Mumbai is actually a 'sapno ki nagri'.. it has too many beautiful places.. one of my favorites is Marine Drive... It takes minimum 3 days to visit all the places including the quality time spent at each.
Yash Saboo 11 months ago
Mesmerising Mumbai: I curse Mumbai for its ever-growing population, the long distance one has to travel every day to reach someplace and the high levels of pollution. Yet, I fall in love with this City of Dreams every day and take pride in living in the largest cosmopolitan city in India. Newly moved to the city, I've become a thorough Mumbaikar already. Mumbai has a lot to offer. The Marine Drive is a star attraction on the waterfront especially at night when the golden lights form a "pearl necklace". It is a treat for the eyes. Sipping masala tea at Gateway of India at around 12 AM while breathing in the sea is something you should definitely try. I love walking down the Carter Road, Bandra any time of the day, with my head turning from side to side, trying to take it all the street food culture in.
Sanjana Chawla 11 months ago
Mumbai has been rightly called as 'The city that never sleeps'. It is my favourite place to be at and trust me, there?s no exaggeration here. Mumbai has a charm of its own. The beaches, marine drive, sprawling malls and the beautiful Taj are a delight to look at. Being someone who loves to shop, Colaba causeway and fashion street are my top to go places, because of course they are very much similar to Delhi's Janpath and Sarojini Nagar market. The newly opened five storeyed Zara is a must visit for all the shoppers as it's the biggest in the country and well, has the best collection. Gateway of India looks much better in real life than it does in photographs so must give it a visit, get clicked with it or maybe take a ferry ride with your friends and family! The city is always on the go and the local trains are flooded with people at all times. Travelling in a local has its own experience, though it was tiring but I loved it! If you love yummy street food and do not care about the calories, then Mumbai has a lot to offer! Vada pao, pav bhaji, missal pao, bhelpuri, colourful chuski- you name it and you get it all easily on the streets. You can never be disappointed with the food that this city has to offer. My favourite places to dine at in Mumbai includes 'Pizza by the bay' and McCafé because yummy food and an amazing view is all you need in life! I loved visiting Siddhi Vinayak temple and the famous Haji Ali Dargah and trust me, these two places are full of the ever-required peace that we need in our busy lives. Juhu beach, though not in a great condition acts as a great tourist place where you can enjoy the water sports or just sit back and see the sun set! Mumbai can be easily visited by a train, flight or by a car drive but flight is the most convenient option as it saves time and energy. You can roam around in the metros or locals and cabs are well connected too. The place being near the sea is quite humid and you should ideally visit it in the later months of the year. Mumbai has always impressed me with its charm and nothing matches the feeling of having a hot cup of coffee or just a good company in the night while you relax at the marine drive. You can spot several people as well as celebrities working out and cycling on the streets and at the Nariman point. Watching DDLJ at Maratha Mandir should be on your 'must-do' list because who doesn't love Bollywood and Shah Rukh Khan?!
Arushi Gorsi 11 months ago
The first thing that struck me about Mumbai was how diverse the culture is. People from all strata of life come together on the streets of Mumbai. The old city works for a historical walk and there are a lot of photo-walks that you can participate in to explore this part of the city. However, the most popular part of Mumbai has to be the Marine Drive, which is famously known as the ?Queen?s Necklace? because of the lights that line it. Mumbai has something for everyone, which, on the downside, means that it is extremely crowded. The traffic on the roads is unbearable and of course, you haven?t experienced the real Mumbai unless you have travelled in the Mumbai local trains.
Saanya Lulla 11 months ago
Mumbai is one of the most colourful cities I've ever been to, and offered a wide variety of things to do and see. The city has something for everyone, from the famous Gateway of India and the Taj Hotel, the beaches like Chowpatty beach and Juhu beach, to the shopper's paradise like Colaba Causeway. The famous Film City and the nightlife of Mumbai are also a must-see for tourists! I would definitely recommend a walk along the Marine Drive at sunset. My favourite part was indulging in all the street food, like pav bhaji, chaat and vada pav, sold at almost every turn!
Anam Shaikh 11 months ago
Mumbai is a beautifully diverse city and is rightly known as the 'City of Dreams'. Since it has tropical climate all year long, try to visit it in Winter when it will be comparatively cooler. There is well-connected network of public transport: buses, trains, auto-rickshaws, Metro and cabs. Mumbai is a bustling, diverse metropolis with a flair all its own. The most famous tourist spots are concentrated in South Mumbai: The Gateway of India, Marine Drive, Kamala Nehru Park, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya (Prince of Wales Museum), the National Gallery of Modern Art, the Jehangir Art Gallery, Nehru Science Centre, Colaba Causeway etc. The coastal city also has beaches, Girgaon Chowpatty and Juhu Beach being the most popular. However for a relatively quiet beach experience, head to Northwest Mumbai to Aksa Beach and Marve Beach. Also worth visiting is Sanjay Gandhi National Park. Beware of fake guides and pick-pockets. While travelling in taxis, keep an eye on the meter. Take a local with you if you're going to local markets to haggle. Ask for receipts everywhere including bars and check what you have been charged for. Wear comfortable clothing and stay hydrated.
pooja khandelwal 2 months ago
It is so beautiful Place. Gateway of India is almost synonymous with Mumbai. It was built to commemorate the visit of King George V and Queen Mary to Mumbai, prior to the Delhi Durbar in December 1911. "Link Hidden"
Anjali Vij 4 months ago
The famous Dargah in Mumbai is located at an islet in southern Mumbai in Worli. The location as well as the mosque are lucratively located that leads so many tourists to the attraction. It is important to be very alert and conscious when visiting the Dargah largely because as it is open to all, different sorts of crowd gathers at the place and chances of pick-pocketing, chain-snatching, purse-looting are very high Secondly, there is an entire money-making business that takes place right before you enter the dargah where vendors will convince you to buy this and get this and definitely take that, even though nothing is required to be offered at the dargah apart from one? own willingness. Even the maulis inside the dargah will ask you for money, but do not fall in the trap as visiting the dargah is free of cost and you need not pay anywhere you do not wish.
Rajesh Saxena 9 months ago
1st single tourists are not allowed gateway to Elephanta Caves. 2nd so many rough stairs. 3rd no water facilities. 4th between caves no shades or toilets. Hopeless experience.
Mrunal Mahadik 11 months ago
I have been to marine drive a several dozen times and it's always packed at all hours but I highly recommend going there after dark, the town's skyline at the night time is something else. I've just sat there and stargazed for hours, I've also seen impromptu jam sessions between strangers, there's something different every time you visit.
Mrunal Mahadik 11 months ago
There is a famous food joint right across the road called Bachelors and is frequented by almost everyone. Avoid visiting marine drive around patriotic holidays, the cops won't allow you to visit because of security concerns.
Mrunal Mahadik 11 months ago
Colaba Causeway is a budget shopper?s dream come true. It hosts a plethora of things, you could find everything that you think of here from clothes to shoes to accessories and even home decor. It is a vibrant alley with shops everywhere. You will find the trendiest of pieces in these shops at really affordable prices.
Mrunal Mahadik 11 months ago
Remember that bargaining is the key here, so take someone who is good at bargaining if you aren't because the vendors might be a little tough to negotiate with. There are also a lot of famous cafes like Mondegar and Leopold close by so head on over there after your shopping excursion and relax with some good food and drinks.
Mrunal Mahadik 11 months ago
It is easily one of the most recognised monuments in Mumbai, there is always an influx of tourists and locals alike. There's a lot to do at gateway, you could take a ferry ride in the Arabian Sea which brings you back to gateway and enjoy the sea breeze or go to Elephanta Caves via ferry. There are also ferries available to Mandwa(Alibag)
Mrunal Mahadik 11 months ago
Right opposite the Gateway of India is Taj Colaba, which is quite a sight to look at in itself with its stunning architecture. The area also houses some of the best food joints in the city, so wander off into the bylanes and explore some for yourself.
Namrata Bharti 11 months ago
Nice place to take your kids . A must go more than once . The echo point and the view to marine drive /queens necklace is spectacular. Very well maintained
Arohita Koyel 11 months ago
very nice place. try travelling via train. will reach in 20 mins. whereas car will atleast take 1 hr. kanheri caves are must see . its more exquisite than the Elephanta caves. Park has its own bus service. though infrequent till if you dont have car its the only way bcz caves are at a quite a distance from the main entrance.Wear comfortable shoes.
Arun Bhardwaj 11 months ago
For the average mumbaikar this is just another railway station. For the tourist it stands as a majestic reminder of Mumbai's British era importance
Anam Shaikh 11 months ago
Gateway of India Gateway of India is almost synonymous with Mumbai. It was built to commemorate the visit of King George V and Queen Mary to Mumbai, prior to the Delhi Durbar in December 1911. Visited by tourists and locals alike, the gateway and its promenade affords a great view of the boat-studded sea and is the connecting point for boat rides to and from the famous Elephanta Caves. The ?Elephanta Festival of music and dance? which was earlier held at the Elephanta caves, is now held in front of the Gateway in March every year. There are also shopping hubs nearby where you can get amazing knick-knacks, jewellery, and clothes at bargain prices. Wear cool clothing, keep yourself hydrated. Beware of pick-pockets and touts.
Anam Shaikh 11 months ago
Marine Drive is rightly called ?Queens Necklace?; looking at this impressive promenade from Nariman Point, you feel like the streetlights lining the arc are beads on a necklace. Large crowds of people come to this place to stride along the beautiful walkway and to view the stunning sight of the setting sun at dusk. The scenic beauty of the perfectly lined palm trees offers its visitors an enthralling experience. The sight of sparkling waters of the Arabian Sea and the amazing feeling of cold breeze caressing your hair along with a long array of restaurants offering mouthwatering snacks and drinks can make any low day bright again. You can also find people offering cycling rides along the pathway. Beware of fake guides, touts, and pickpockets.
Pranjali Kureel 11 months ago
As a history enthusiast, I loved Elephanta caves with their grandeur and rock-cut architecture. The huge stone sculptures like 'Trimurti' and 'Ardhnareshwar' blew my mind. The ferry ride to the island on which these caves are situated isn't so much fun for people like me who experience seasickness. I visited Elephanta caves in the month of June when the weather was hot and humid which makes the long walk till caves even more tiring. However, the shops on the way are good for shopping as they sell a variety of stuff like metal/shell jewellery, bags, souvenirs etc. at affordable prices (Rs. 50- 450). It is advisable to visit the place in winter months and carry a water bottle to stay hydrated.

Ask a question from the travellers who have experience.

Q. What is the visa cost of traveling here?

Answer this question

Q. What are the hotels near Shivaji Airport?

Answer this question

Q. Mumbai holiday package?

Answer this question

Q. I am planning to visit. Mumbai in April, with my 9 month little one, is it okay?

Answer this question

Q. i would like to visit Mumbai and will be there for 4 days. Which are the places to visit and how to visit? I am told the sea link is worth seeing. How and when to visit the place?

Answer this question

Q. I am planing to Mumbai for 2 days on 21 jan , wish to stay best 5 star hotel and visit Bollywood studio please suggest how i plan?

Answer this question

Q. I want to plan a trip to Mumbai but I'm very confused as to when to go, since I am not very fond of the rain. Any suggestions?

Aashimi Bhatia 2 months ago
Mumbai is best visited during the winters, when the weather is really pleasant. If you're coming from the colder parts of the country, a few days in Mumbai in this season are sure to be great.

Q. I will be reaching mumbai central railway station at 6:00 AM and i have leisure time till 3:00 PM. What should/can I do in this time? Thanks in advance

Answer this question

Q. I am coming to Mumbai for the first time with my family. I am not sure where to stay, I am looking for mid range hotel centrally located. Since we will be with our 2 daughters also note where all to visit. After Mumbai trip we are planning to go to khandala any recommendations where else can I visit close to Mumbai? Is it better to stay in Andheri or Bandra? Is there any tour agent who can organise our Mumbai trip or it's better to do by ourselves? Thanks for your feedback in advance

Holidify 3 months ago
Please refer to the Hotels tab above, which lists out all sorts of hotel types depending on their prices and ratings. You can also sort them out based on the distance from the city's centre to help you narrow down your selection. Mumbai is quite a safe city, so travelling as a family is not unsafe as such. However, it is best to avoid construction sites and old mill compounds as a precaution. Chowpatty and Aarey Milk Colony should be avoided at night as you are tourists. Bandra is closer to the tourist destinations but will be more expensive than Andheri. Mumbai is close to many picturesque destinations like Lonavala, Matheran and Alibag. Please refer to the following link for suggestions on where to go near Mumbai: https://www.holidify.com/weekend-getaways/from-mumbai.html . Given your travel agenda, it is recommended to use a tour operator for a smoother and much more easier holiday. You could fill out the form in the following link, and our travel partners will be able to devise the perfect package for you based on your travel requirements: https://www.holidify.com/custom-package/

Q. What we can see in Mumbai with family in two days. Which beach is better choupaty or juhu.

Holidify 11 months ago
You can cover all the major attractions in two days. You can take the famous "Mumbai Darshan: bus for a day which will take you to all the major tourist places. You should definitely try to visit both Juhu and Chowpati.

Q.

Answer this question

Q. I have booked my tickets for Mumbai in July! We were just planning to visit nasik and Shirdi but now we are planning for Mumbai too. plz help me to get a nice budget hotel in dadar or Central Mumbai !! Plz help??

Answer this question

Q. In which sequence I can visit the all attractions. How can I visit all these points. Which places is good to stay there to visit all.

Answer this question

Q. Which is the best budget hotels in central location of Mumbai

Kumar Kislay 11 months ago
You can try Ginger hotels in Bombay. Book in advance to avoid issues later.

Q. 4 days plan

Answer this question

Q. Water park

Answer this question

Q. Water park near bhyander

Holidify 11 months ago
The water parks near Bhyander are- 1. Krishna Resorts and Water Park 2. Royal Garden Resort and Water Park 3. Sargam Water Park 4. The Great Escape Water Park 5. Water Kingdom

Q. Is it a good idea to visit Mumbai during the monsoon season?

Rohit Shroff 11 months ago
Definitely if you want to enjoy monsoons. Commuting will be difficult, but the views are very good

Q. Is it a good idea to visit Mumbai during the monsoon season?

Answer this question

Q. Is it a good idea to visit Mumbai during the monsoon season?

Answer this question

Q. Is it a good idea to visit Mumbai during the monsoon season?

Answer this question

Q. Is it a good idea to visit Mumbai during the monsoon season?

Answer this question

Q. Is it a good idea to visit Mumbai during the monsoon season?

Holidify 11 months ago
Mumbai is famous for its monsoon, however, the water logging is a major problem. So if you are willing to face the water logging problems that happens sometimes, you will have a great time in Mumbai because its monsoons are to die for.

Q. 5 star hotels in Mumbai?

Answer this question

Q. I am planning a trip to mumbai for 2 days in january.... I need some suggestions since I don't know how to manage....

Rajat Jain 8 months ago
If you're in Mumbai for the first time, you can go ahead and look at the main attractions first, like the Gateway of India, Sanjay Gandhi National Park, Marine Drive, Sea link etc. Stay in a centrally located hotel, and go ahead and explore. You shouldn't miss out on some great food while you're there. You can see this blog for some guidance on food while you're in Mumbai - www.holidify.com/blog/mumbai-street-food/ For other queries, and to sort out your travel plan, visit - www.holidify.com/mumbai

Q. Fyfyft

Answer this question

Q. Tour to Maharashtra 3 jyotirlinga and shirdi and sani singnapur. Cost per person.

Answer this question

Download Mumbai PDF Guide

Free . Works Offline . Share Anywhere

Download Now