Ad

Pre Plan Your Work Leaves For The Long Weekends in 2019

Sometimes the Earth and Sun come together, chat over coffee and while planning the calendar for the coming years, decide to keep festivals or holidays on Fridays or Mondays, hence, giving us humans a long weekend break. That's probably not how it's done but it doesn't matter. It's the latter part that we care about. 2017 was a great year for long weekend breaks, same goes for 2018. However, you will have to pull some strings in 2019. None the less, the new year seems a promising one for travellers. Here is the list of long weekend dates in 2019 to help you plan your travel plans ahead. 

Long Weekends 2019
Source

January 2019

12th Jan: Saturday

13th Jan: Sunday

14th Jan: Monday, Makar Sankranti /Pongal

Where to Escape: To get a long weekend break in the first 12 days of 2019 is tempting. To continue celebrating the new year head over to Rann of Kutch for a surreal white desert experience, Kite Flying Festival in Ahmedabad to witness vibrant skies, skiing and other winter sports in Uttrakhand for that adrenaline rush or Camel Fair in Bikaner to get up close and personal with Rajasthan's culture. You can also plan a short, 3 day Dubai trip only for the Dubai festival.

February - March 2019


28th Feb: Thursday, Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti

1st March: Friday, take leave

2nd March: Saturday

3rd March: Sunday

4th March: Monday, Maha Shivratri

Where to Escape: You can literally plan a mini vacation for these 5 days. This is the time Dubai is not so hot and offers great discounts on everything due to the offseason. You can also visit Bali to unwind. Some other Indian options are Udaipur, Goa, Coorg, Kodaikanal, Ladakh.

21st March: Thursday, Holi

22nd March: Friday, take leave

23rd March: Saturday

24th March: Sunday

Where to Escape: March is blessed with not one but two long weekends. You can visit Hampi for its heritage ruins, Rajasthan for its wilderness, play a colourful Holi in Vrindavan, or Mount Abu for a peaceful getaway.

April 2019


17th April: Wednesday, Mahavir Jayanti

18th April: Thursday, take leave

19th April: Friday, Good Friday

20th April: Saturday

21st April Sunday

Where to Escape: Start your summer by visiting the Maldives for the perfect summer weather, Bali for its pristine beaches, Nainital for fresh air and family time, or Darjeeling and Gangtok for picturesque views.

August 2019


10th Aug: Saturday

11th Aug: Sunday

12th Aug: Monday, Bakrid

13th Aug: Tuesday, take leave

14th Aug: Wednesday, take leave

15th Aug: Thursday, Independence Day/ Raksha Bandhan

16th Aug: Friday, take leave

17th Aug: Saturday, Parsi New Year

18th Aug: Sunday

Where to Escape: August is duly awaited every year for its long weekends. This year, due to Raksha Bandhan and Independence day falling on the same day you will have to make some sacrifices. Rest assured, you will be able to get more than a week for the ideal mid-year vacation. You can visit Singapore for an exclusive urban experience, Turkey for its aesthetics, Sri Lanka for its everlasting natural beauty, Vietnam and Malaysia for a true Asian experience, Thailand for a week-long party, North India (Jaipur, Agra, Delhi) to cover the best of India, or Kerala for its enriching beauty during monsoon.

September 2019

31st Aug: Saturday

1st Sep: Sunday

2nd Sep: Monday, Ganesh Chaturthi

Where to Escape: Daman for a relaxing time, Mumbai to witness the love of its people for Lord Ganesh, Lonavla for some time away from city life, or Bhandardara to spend time in pure nature.

7th Aug: Saturday

8th Aug: Sunday

9th Aug: Monday, take leave

10th Aug: Tuesday, Muharram

Where to Escape: Kerala for Onam, Darjeeling and Gangtok for picturesque views, Hampi for adventure sports, Pune for partying, Arunachal Pradesh for its wildlife sanctuaries and camping, or Kerala for its backwaters.

October 2019


5th Oct: Saturday

6th Oct: Sunday

7th Oct: Monday, take leave

8th Oct: Tuesday: Dusshera/ Durga Puja

Where to Escape: October is the month of festivities. You can head over to Kolkata to witness the grandeur of Durga Puja, Mysore, Varanasi, Delhi to join in the Dusshera celebrations, Rishikesh for the Holy Ganga and adventure sports, or Assam for its wildlife.

November 2019

9th Nov: Saturday

10th Nov: Sunday, Eid

11th Nov: Monday, take leave

12th Nov: Tuesday, Guru Nanak Jayanti

Where to Escape: The perfect vacation time, November is the ideal month to head out of the city and enjoy life. The best places to visit during these days are Goa for its nightlife and beaches, Bharatpur to witness beautiful migratory birds, Udaipur for perfect weather, Jaipur and Jaisalmer for its cultural beauty or Manali and Ladakh for snow clad mountains.

December 2019

21st Dec: Saturday

22nd Dec: Sunday

23rd Dec: Monday, take leave

24th Dec: Tuesday, take leave

25th Dec: Wednesday. Christmas

Where to Escape: Tis the season for holidays! The happiest time of the year certainly calls for a short vacation. Visit Agra for the beautiful Taj Mahal, Delhi for its chilling winter and mouth-watering food, Jaipur for its heritage forts, Goa and Mumbai for the perfect year-end parties, or Uttrakhand for skiing.

So make the most of your long weekends this year!

This post was published by Yash Saboo