Union Territories of India

Union Territories of India

Union territories of India are special administrative sectors in the republic of India which operate directly under the central government. Unlike the states of India which have their own state governments, they do not have a government of their own. There are in total seven union territories in India, with Delhi and Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry) being granted partial statehood. Each union territory has a capital of its own or the main area of administration.


Here is the list of 7 Union Territories of India

1. National Capital Territory of Delhi - Delhi


67 photos

Known For : Humayun's Tomb | Hauz Khas Village | Qutub Minar

Delhi or the National Capital Territory of Delhi is a city and a union territory which consists of the national capital of India, New Delhi. The state of Uttar Pradesh surrounds it to the east while on the remaining sides it is bordered by Haryana. Much like the states of India, Delhi is administered by its own legislature, high court and council of ministers.
From historical monuments to crowded shopping malls, from Mughal gardens to Delhi University campus, the capital city has multiple personalities making it 'The good, the bad and the ugly'.The Capital city of India and the base location to explore North India, Delhi is considered to be the city with a heart.

Best Time : October to March

View packages starting from ₹ 7,000

Read More 96 New Delhi Attractions

2. Chandigarh - Chandigarh


39 photos

Known For : Rose Garden | Rock Garden

Chandigarh, a union territory that is the capital of both Punjab as well as Haryana is a subtle and ideal definition of the word 'city'. In a culture that includes instances of both traditional Punjab as well as a modernity, Chandigarh is a pretty town resembling a morning dream which is sure to flatter you with its innocence and pleasantness.

Chandigarh is similar to Delhi in that it is granted the status of a city and of a union territory at the same time. Despite being the capital of both the states of Punjab and Haryana, it is governed directly by the central government. Geographically, the state of Punjab lies to its north, south and west while the state of Haryana lies to the east.

Best Time : August to March

View packages starting from ₹ 10,000

Read More 41 Chandigarh Attractions

3. Andaman & Nicobar - Port Blair


19 photos

Known For : Scuba Diving In Andaman | Havelock Island | Snorkeling in Andamans

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands collectively was the first union territory of India after India gained independence. These islands are situated to the south-east of the India Peninsula mainland at the juncture where the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea merge.
Lagoons of crystal clear water and scenic beaches topped with a little bit of history make Andaman and Nicobar one of the most perfect choices for an enjoyable, laid-back holiday where you can go on long treks, laze around in the backwaters of the island, or if you’re feeling a little more adventurous, even go for a bit of deep sea diving. From the pristine, untouched beaches of Neil and Havelock Islands to the bustling town of Port Blair, the Andamans have something to offer to every tourist.

Best Time : October to Jun

View packages starting from ₹ 8,850

Read More 60 Andaman Attractions

4. Pondicherry - Puducherry


29 photos

Known For : Paradise Beach, Pondicherry | Aurobindo Ashram | Seaside Promenade

Pondicherry was formed in the year of 1962, out of the former French colonies of Mahe, Pondicherry, Karaikal and Yanam. These colonies are now the districts under Pondicherry. Karaikal and Puducherry districts are bound by Tamil Nadu while the remaining districts of Mahe and Yanam are bound by Kerala and Andhra Pradesh respectively.
Pondicherry, also known as Puducherry and commonly referred to as just Pondy, is one of the seven Union Territories of India. is often famously referred to as the French Riviera of the East, and it is indeed one of the most charming and mesmerising places to visit in South India. Located in the state of Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry is a little town tucked away on the south-east coastline of India, and it is a destination that promises travellers sanctity and serenity, in the real sense of the terms.

Best Time : October to March

View packages starting from ₹ 6,768

Read More 42 Pondicherry Attractions

5. Lakshadweep - Kavaratti


24 photos

Known For : Minicoy Island | Agatti Islands | Bangaram Island

Literally meaning a 'hundred thousand islands', Lakshadweep has few of the most beautiful and exotic islands and beaches of India.
Formerly a part of Madras (now Chennai), Lakshadweep islands were separated and given the status of Union Territory on the 1st of November, 1956. Initially, it was called the Laccadive, Minicoy and Aminidivi islands until the name Lakshadweep was officially adopted on the 1st of November of 1973. It is the smallest among all the union territories of India in terms of area and lies in the Laccadive sea south-west from the Indian peninsula mainland.

Best Time : September to May

Read More 15 Lakshadweep Attractions

6. Daman and Diu - Daman


12 photos

Known For : Devka Beach | Mirasol Lake Garden | Lighthouse, Daman

Daman and Diu are two regions which are collectively administered as a single union territory. The Gulf of Khambat separates these two regions. Daman and Diu were part of Portuguese India years after Indian independence. It wasn't until 1961 on the 19th of December when the territories under the Portuguese State of India were incorporated in the Indian Republic. Goa and the areas of Daman and Diu were initially considered as a single union territory until Goa was granted separate statehood in 1987.
The cool beaches, greenery, scenic natural beauty and most of all, its easy availability of cheap liquor makes Daman a popular destination among youths and even as a getaway for those in Gujarat.

Best Time : October to Apr

View hotels starting from ₹ 849

Read More 19 Daman Attractions


7. Dadra & Nagar Haveli - Silvassa


11 photos

Known For : Lion Safari Wildlife Park | Vanganga Lake | Island Garden

Similar to Goa and Daman and Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli was also a part of Portuguese India until the middle of the 20th century. The smaller area of Dadra is in Gujarat while Nagar Haveli is in between the states of Maharashtra and Gujarat.
With the hills of the Western Ghats and surrounding lush greenery, it is an ideal indulgence into the wild side for a tourist and its Portuguese heritage makes it famous amongst the history enthusiasts as well.

Best Time : November to June

View hotels starting from ₹ 1,000

Read More 10 Silvassa Attractions

India Packages

Compare quotes from upto 3 travel agents for free

  • Magical Jaisalmer, Jodhpur & Udaipur

    ₹ 12,000 onwards


  • Wonders of Manali, Shimla, Dharamshala & More

    ₹ 17,500 onwards


  • Spectacular Agra, Jaipur & 4 places

    ₹ 33,000 onwards


View All Packages for India >

Related Collections

This post was published by Joysurjya Hagjer

Comments on this post