Weather :

Time Required : 1 - 2 hrs

Safed Baradari, Lucknow Overview

Built by Nawab Wajid Ali Shah, Safed Baradari is a white marbled palace originally constructed as the Nawab's "Palace of Mourning". Located at Maharaja Mahamudabad of Qaiser Bagh, the Safed Baradari houses marble statues of the Anjuman founders Maharajas Man Singh and Balrampur's Digvijay Singh. Initially called Qasr-ul-Aza, this structure further came to be used as a British petitionary court.

Photos of Safed Baradari

Safed Baradari

Read More on Safed Baradari

Safed Baradari Architecture

Built by Nawab Wajid Ali Shah in 1854, the Safed Baradari houses an entire royal manifestation in marble. It sites elaborate corridors, halls and well-designed architectural intricacies. This marble palace also hosts two marble statues of the Maharajas in the Baradar's main hall.

These kings, Man Singh and Digvijay Singh founded the Anjuman which was later known as the British India Association of Oudh. The Baradari, or the 'Twelve Doored Palace' houses its main entrance on the eastern end which open up to octagonal pillars, further giving way to witnessing marvellous artistry via stucco artworks and bright wallwork.  

History of the Safed Baradari

The Safed Baradari was primarily built as the Imambara or the 'Palace of Mourning', used to organise the Azadaari. With the colonial siege in 1856, this place of grief turned into a formal area for court hearing and petitions to take place. However, it was this even that further fuelled the 1857 war of Indian Independence.

The Safed Baradari as a place of law was then handed over to the Oudh Talaqdars in 1923 and was thus renamed as the British India Association of Oudh. However, the Safed Baradari is still under the hold of this association. Today, this 'Palace of Mourning' is used as a convention centre for weddings and other occasions. 

Top Hotels Near Safed Baradari

Safed Baradari Reviews

Your rating

Ask a Question

Ask a question from the travellers who have experience.