Reviews about Varanasi

Your rating

VPCVNARAYANARAO VADLAMUDI

1 year ago
varanasi is oldest temple in the world, good god good temple and tourism place and nice temples sakshi ganapathi temple varahi maa temple hanuman temple kala bairav temple visalakshi maa temple and A (Read More)nnapoorneswari maa temples are seen in life time once..

Bharat Taxi

1 year ago
Ganga Aarti of Dashashwamedh Ghat in Varanasi is world-famous. The focal point of Varanasi is Dashashwamedh Ghat. Evening view is even more attractive when sparkling with the light of lamps. At Dasha (Read More)shwamedh Ghat, the world-famous Ganga Aarti begins with the scent of sandalwood and the chanting of havan mantras.

Bharat Taxi

2 years ago
I started to visit the city with my friends. The inputs and stimuli the city offers are so many things. Varanasi is actually the holiest place in all of Hinduism. Ganges river is an important part of (Read More) Varanasi. It is the oldest city in the world, so many stories and secrets are hidden in the city. I am really happy to visit here, I had the opportunity to understand the culture and the life of Varanasi. For a cultural trip Varanasi is good city there have so many temples and evening Ganga Aarti is my favorite view in Varanasi. For a city tour, cab service is very helpful for us.

Priyanka Verma

3 years ago
Hello people! If you are planning to visit Varanasi then don't delay because it's truly worth it. It is one of the oldest cities in the world which is known for many things like beautiful Hindu templ (Read More)es, Ghats and several delicacies whose taste will get your taste buds craving for more! I visited Varanasi recently and was enraptured by the beautiful Ganga Aarti, the sunrise at Assi ghat, the devotion of people while visiting Kashi Vishwanath temple, the serenity of Sarnath and the list continues. "Link Hidden"

manikesh srivastav

2 years ago
Don't miss Ganga Aarti.,if you visit Varanasi.

Pallavi Siddhanta

3 years ago
- Kashi is a land of many charms. Its not your usual holiday. Dusty, narrow and full of alleys and cowdung, you may wonder why you decided to come. But don't form an opinion until you reach the Ganga (Read More) Ghats, or Benaras' assortment of temples. The city will leave a mark on your pysche. And don't miss Dev Deepavali here!

Rajiv Keshri

on Dashashwamedh Ghat 3 years ago
Beautiful places for travel. This place is full of special things and lot more of Lord Shiva. You can find so many happening things in the stairs of the Ganga.

Kovid Kapoor

3 years ago
- Being a religious city, it is necessary for outsiders to understand and adhere to the customs and traditions of each area.
- If there is one city that truly defines India, it is Varanasi.

Kirti Dass

3 years ago
Temples, foreigners and Ghats is how I would describe Varanasi. My trip comprised visiting the Vishwanath Temple, BHU, Manikarnika Ghat, Assi Ghat and various other temples. I took part in the evenin (Read More)g Ganga Aarti which witnesses a mammoth gathering of a large number of devotees. On the second day,we took a boat ride to the various Ghats, mainly Manikarnika and Assi. It was a moment of inner peace and spiritual realisation for me. I found temples literally in every nook and corner of the city. What is even more interesting is that each temple has a story and history of its own and is equally famous. I think everyone should try the very famous lassi and rabdi

Surbhi Parashar Parashar

3 years ago
The city of temples or Banaras, as it is popularly known, is a holy city on the banks of the River Ganga. Said to have been discovered by Lord Shiva, this town has immense historical as well as relig (Read More)ious importance. Not just a place where pilgrims throng to visit the temples, Varanasi is also the destination where most people come to spend their last days as it is believed that an individual who dies in this sacred place can attain salvation. Varanasi is one of the oldest continually inhabited places in the world and oldest in India. Its narrow lanes are filled with temples, fabulous food outlets, cows and bulls standing midway and numerous people flocking here and there. Varanasi is also called the "Galiyon ka sheher", meaning the city of lanes, "the city of temples", "the religious capital of India". It is also called the "city of learning" as it has always been a big learning centre since the ancient past. The Banaras Hindu University, one of the oldest and largest Indian universities is also situated here. Varanasi is also famous for its Kashi Vishwanath Temple, which houses one of the 12 revered Jyotirlingas. Sarnath, which is one of the biggest pilgrimage sites for Buddhists, is located nearby and Varanasi is typically the base to visit Sarnath. However, the most major attraction here is the River Ganga itself. The evening ritual, called the Ganga Aarti is a must see for everyone, without which, perhaps, a visit to Varanasi is incomplete.

Soumita Ghosh

3 years ago
If you want to visit all the temples in this holy place, I would suggest you to hire a taxi to show you around. The Ganga Aarti held at evenings is a sight to behold, but make sure not to lose your w (Read More)allet or phone amidst the crowd. The city is never peaceful and is very noisy and dirty. However, you can find peace and calm at the numerous ghats in this religious place. Apart from hotels and lodges, there are several dharamshalas where you can stay. However, most accommodations are unsatisfactory so choose wisely. The river is sadly extremely polluted at most places so think twice before taking a dip. This place also experiences several political uprisings from time to time so you are advised to keep away from them.

and 123 others have answered questions asked by
10,000+ travellers on Holidify

Q. Weather in March in Varanasi

Raghvi Sales Tutorials

2 years ago
Moderate Cold

Q. What are the local dishes I should try in Varanasi?

Pallavi Siddhanta

3 years ago
Food in Banaras is more than just the revered Paan! If you're in Varanasi, do not miss the various kinds of chaats which are available in Kashi Chaat Bhandar in Godowlia. Must tries are the tomato ch (Read More)aat, the aloo tikki and the dahi golgappe. Additionally, try Blue Lassi's huge assortment of lassis. They have everything from Banana to Pineapple to blueberry. Have the thandai, which is sweet dry-fruit milk, and eat sweets at Pahalwan Sweet shop in Lanka. If you're going during winters, do not forget the Malaiyo!

Q. I want temple

Holidify

3 years ago
Varanasi is the city of temples and there are numerous temples to visit. The most renowned ones are Kashi Vishwanath Temple and Sankat Mochan Temple. You can find full details here- http://www.holidi (Read More)fy.com/places/varanasi/
Ask a question from the travellers who have
experience.

Download Varanasi PDF Guide

Free . Works Offline . Share Anywhere

Download Now