Tamchoe Monastery, Paro Overview

Popularly known as Tachog Lhakhang or ‘temple of the hill of the excellent horse’, the Tamchoe Monastery stands on a mountain base at an altitude of 2156m along the highway connecting Paro and Thimphu. Overlooking the Paro Chhu, this Dzong is located between Chhuzom and Isuna village and dates back to 1420 when architect saint Thangtong Gyalpo built it after having a vision of Avalokiteshvara in the guise of Balaha-an (spiritual horse) during meditating.

Photos of Tamchoe Monastery

Tamchoe Monastery

Read More on Tamchoe Monastery

Timings of Tamchoe Monastery

Open daily from 8:00 AM till 5:00 PM; the monastery can be visited throughout the year although for entering the Lhakhang, visitors have to seek permission from monks beforehand.

What To Expect

The relics of the monastery include that of Guru Padmasambhava, Lord Buddha, Zhabdrung and Avalokiteshvara as well as Tenjur and Kanjur inside main shrine and stacks of ancient books. Statues of Dewa Zangpo, Vajrapani, Lam Jampel and Lam Thangthong’s walking stick are also there. The Tshechu festival, Bum De and Dewa Zangpo’s death anniversaries are celebrated every year with mask dances.

History And Architecture Of The Bridge

On the backdrop of verdant and snowy mountains, the Tamchoe Monastery is famous for the iron bridge made by Thangtong Gyalpo which was damaged by a flood in 1969 followed by restoration of the traditional bridge with iron chains in 2005 by 3rd Bhutanese king Jigme Singe Wangchuk. 

Crossing the suspension bridge flanked by numerous prayer flags is thrilling, and on reaching, the descendants of Gyalpo taking care of the orchard and cattle can be seen.

Paro Packages

Compare quotes from upto 3 travel agents for free

Top Hotels Near Tamchoe Monastery

Tamchoe Monastery Reviews

Your rating

Ask a Question

Ask a question from the travellers who have experience.