Places To Visit in Costa Rica

Here are the top 0 tourist places in Costa Rica

FAQs on Costa Rica

What is the currency of Costa Rica?

The currency of Costa Rica is Costa Rican colon. It has denominations of 5, 10, 20, 25, 50, 100 and 500. American dollars are also usually accepted. But, it is advised to pay in dollars only if the price is in dollars. Therefore, carry both American dollars and colones with you. Have enough cash to pay to taxi drivers or other small establishments. Luxurious hotels and stores accept credit cards also. Traveler's checks are not accepted widely in Costa Rica.

What is the history of Costa Rica?

The history of Costa Rica takes us back to 1502 when Christopher Columbus discovered the country. At that time, only a few indigenous tribes lived here, and most of them were devasted by European diseases. In the mid-sixteenth century, Spain conquered Costa Rica but, the country remained poor for several years. This was followed by the struggle for independence which Central America gained in 1821. And in 1838, Costa Rica became a separate state. After this, the country started trading coffee which brought wealth in the country. The twentieth century was peaceful, and first democratic elections were also held. A civil war took place, and many people died, after which a new constitution was published in 1949. Costa Rica has evolved over the years, and today it is much developed and financially stable country. Now, besides coffee, it is an exporter of bananas, sugar and beef.

What is unique about culture of Costa Rica?

Costa Rica is a Catholic country and majority of people residing here are Roman Catholics. There is not much diversity in religion. But, the Constitution of the country provides freedom of religion. Unlike most of the countries, Costa Ricans stay with their families until they are married and settled. Spanish culture heavily influences the culture of the Costa Rica. Spanish is the primary language spoken throughout the country. Other indigenous languages spoken are Cabecar, Bibri and Maleku. English is not widely spoken here, and therefore, tourists might face communication problems. It is better to learn main Spanish words to avoid difficulties.

How is Costa Rica divided into regions?

Costa Rica is bordered by Panama and Nicaragua and is divided into seven provinces namely- Guanacaste, Alajuela, Heredia, Limon, Cartago, San Jose and Puntarenas. While in the northwestern part of the country, you can enjoy the beauty of mountains and volcanos in the provinces of Guanacaste and Alajuela; there are soothing beaches in Puntarenas located in southern Costa Rica. Centrally located are all the other provinces. San Jose, the largest city, has the gist of Costa Rican culture. From gourmet food to traditional markets, you will find here everything. Around twenty-six national parks, rich in unique wildlife, are spread throughout the country.
Book Customized Package