Temples in Mathura

Family Holidays Religious

Famous Temple in Mathura

Known as the ‘Bhagwan Krishn Janambhoomi’, Mathura is the land of temples that are scattered in every nook and corner of the city. However, these temples in Mathura are not just dedicated to Lord Krishna but also to Lord Shiva. Thus bringing together the whole Vaishnavite and Shaivite culture together. Boasting of extreme architectural magnificence and offering immense peace and calm, these temples in Mathura are visited by tourists and pilgrims alike. You should especially visit here during the time of Janmashtami, when the temples are lit up in bright light, diyas and colourful decor. Given below is a comprehensive list of the most popular temples in Mathura.

Here is the list of 16 Temples in Mathura

1. Shri Krishna Janmasthan Temple

Shri Krishna Janmasthan Temple
3.6 /5

Shri Krishna Janmasthan Temple is located in the holy city of Mathura, Uttar Pradesh. It is built around the prison cell in which Lord Krishna’s parents, Mata Devaki and Vasudeva were imprisoned by his evil uncle Kansa. The temple is of great significance for the Hindus as it is believed to be the birthplace of Lord Krishna.

Timings: All Days 5:00 AM - 12:00 PM; 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

2. Dwarkadhish Temple

Dwarkadhish Temple
3.7 /5 View 6+ photos

The Dwarkadhish temple, touted as one of the holiest temples in the city of Mathura, is famous all over the country for its elaborate architecture and paintings. Built only in the year 1814, the temple is relatively new but is highly revered. Situated within the perimeter of the city's holy gate, near the ghats of River Yamuna, the temple and its surroundings are a hub of a lot of interesting activities.

Timings: All Days 6:30 AM - 10:30 PM; 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

3. Birla Mandir Mathura (Gita Mandir)

Birla Mandir Mathura (Gita Mandir)
3.2 /5

Located about 6.5 kms from the Mathura junction on the outskirts of Mathura on the Vrindavan - Mathura Road is the famous Birla Mandir, also known by the name of Gita Mandir. It is a prominent Hindu pilgrimage site frequented by pilgrims and tourists alike. The shrine is dedicated to Lord Lakshmi Narayan. The architecture of the temple speaks of its magnificence and the exquisite carvings and paintings of its grandeur.

Timings: During Summer - 5:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 2:00 PM - 9:00 PM; During Winter 5:30 AM - 12:00 PM, 2:00 PM - 8:30 PM

4. Jai Gurudev Mandir

Jai Gurudev Mandir

Also known as Naam Yog Sadhna Mandir, Jaigurudev Mandir is dedicated to Baba Jai Gurudev, located on the National Highway 2, between Delhi and Agra. The celebrated man is a revered guruji among the devotees and he also runs a charitable organization and ashram. The temple hosts an annual Bhandaar festival which attracts hordes of pilgrims.

Timings: All Days 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

5. Govardhan Hill

Govardhan Hill
4.2 /5 View 5+ photos

Govardhan Hill or the Giri Raj is situated at a distance of 22 km from Vrindavan. It has been stated in the Holy Bhagwat Gita that according to Lord Krishna, Govardhan Parvat is not different from him. Therefore, all his worshipers worship the pure rocks of the hill just like they worship his idol. The hill is made up of sandstone and stands 80 ft tall with a circumference of 38 km.

Timings: All Days 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

6. Dauji Mandir

Dauji Mandir

In close proximity to the southeastern region of Mathura, about 18 kilometres from the city is one of the most revered temples of the country, the Dauji Mandir. The temple has stood for over 5000 years since 1535 AD and is one of the oldest temples in the city. The presiding deity of the temple is Lord Balarama, who was the elder sibling of Lord Krishna.

Timings: All Days 5:00 AM - 12:00 PM; 4:30 PM - 9:00 PM

7. Bhuteshwar Mahadev Mandir

Bhuteshwar Mahadev Mandir

Bhuteshwar Mahadev Mandir is a revered Hindu temple situated in Garravkendra, Mathura dedicated to Lord Shiva, also known as Bhuteshwar Mahadev. It is also a Shaktipeeth where the ringlet of Mata Sati fell after her body was destroyed. The shrine is considered auspicious and unique as it is one of the very few temples in the city which is not dedicated to Lord Krishna.

Timings: 5:00 AM - 1:00 PM; 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM

8. Rangji Temple, Mathura

Rangji Temple, Mathura

Rangji Temple is situated on the Vrindavan - Mathura Marg in Vrindavan, Mathura. Dedicated to Lord Sri Goda Ranagamannar - a South indian goddess and Lord Ranganatha - an incarnation of God Vishnu, the temple also follows a south Indian architectural pattern for its insides. But has been designed in the North Indian fashion from outside.

Timings: All Days 5:30 AM - 12:00 PM; 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

9. Chamunda Devi Temple

Chamunda Devi Temple

Situated on the Chamunda Devi Marg in Mathura, Chamunda Devi Temple is one of the 51 shaktipeeth.

Timings: All Days 6:30 AM - 12:00 PM, 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

10. Shree Swaminarayan Mandir

Shree Swaminarayan Mandir

Located at Kampughat near Police Chowki in Mathura, Shree Swaminarayan Mandir is a revered Hindu Temple dedicated to Lord Krishna and Radha Ji.

Timings: All Days 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

11. Shri Rangeshwar Mahadev Sirsama Bagichi

Shri Rangeshwar Mahadev Sirsama Bagichi

Shri Rangeshwar Mahadev Sirsama Bagichi Temple is one of the very few temples in Mathura that is dedicated to Lord Shiva in the form of Rangeshwar Mahadev. The temple boasts of huge archways and striking architecture. And the presiding deity is bedecked in colourful clothes and floral jewellery.

Timings: All Days 5:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

12. Peepleshwar Mahadeo Temple

Peepleshwar Mahadeo Temple

Peepleshwar Mahadeo Temple is another one of the for Shiva temples situated in the city of Mathura. It is believed that to go on a blessed and a fruitful pilgrimage to ‘Braj Mandal Region’, blessings from any one of these four temples is of supreme importance. This temple is comparatively smaller and is presided by a humble Shiva Lingum which is adorned in a modest silk cloth.

13. Yam Yamuna Temple

Yam Yamuna Temple

Also known as Yamuna-Dharamraj Temple, Yum Yamuna Temple is situated near the Vishram Ghat in Mathura. The temple boasts of silver gilds in the exterior with a cosy door which you can only enter if you bend a little. The interiors of the temple are pretty simple where the presiding deities Yum and Yamuna. The deities made in black stone stand in the heart of the room and are known to be around 4900 years old.

14. Shri Adi Varaha Temple

Shri Adi Varaha Temple

Located near the famous Dwarkadheesh Temple in Mathura, Shri Adi Varaha Temple holds the reputation of being one of the oldest in the city. The fact that makes the temple unique and different from others is that the presiding deity i.e. Shri Adi Varaha is red in colour and is called 'Lal Varaha'. The temple opens from 6:30 in the morning to 10:30 AM. And then again from 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM (summers), or 3:30 PM to 6:30 PM (winters).

15. Keshav Dev Temple (Kesava Deo Temple)

Keshav Dev Temple (Kesava Deo Temple)

Keshav Dev Temple is situated on the land behind the Shri Krishna Janmabhoomi Temple in Mathura. It holds significant historical importance as it was believed to be the ground where Lord Krishna was held prisoner. Later, a temple was constructed at the site which was rebuilt several times throughout history. Dedicated to Lord Krishna, the temple stays flooded with pilgrims especially during Janmashtami.

Timings: All Days 5:00 AM - 9:30 PM

16. Shri Jugal Kishor Ji Mandir

Shri Jugal Kishor Ji Mandir

Shri Jugal Kishore Ji Mandir is situated near the Keshi Ghat in Mathura and therefore also goes by the name of Keshi Ghat Temple. Believed to be one of the four oldest temples in the city, the temple was constructed in 1727 A.D. Built in red sandstone, the temple boasts of a grand architectural style and is presided by the original deity of Jugal Kishor Ji.

This post was published by Harshitha

Share this post on social media
Google +